Fischer, Nils & Timbazo - Rumberos a Monton


  Fischer, Nils & Timbazo
click to order (usually available)

  Rumberos a Monton
  Timbazo Productions

A joyful, exuberant all-star celebration combining the high-intensity of timba and 'salsa
dura' - featuring luminaries like Lucrecia, Changuito, Calixto Oviedo, Alexander Abreu,
Carlos del Puerto, Julito Padrón & many others.
Rumberos a Montón is the successor of the acclaimed debut album ¡Gracias Joe Cuba!. The new
CD - recorded with an incredible all-star cast - is for the dancers, and it will make the listeners
dance too! 34 musicians contributed to the international recording sessions in Rotterdam,
Antwerp, Barcelona, Atlanta, Havana, Turku, Phoenix, Detroit and New York. Arrangements by
Alain Pérez, Marc Bischoff, Jan Hartong & Iván ‘Melon’ Lewis. Mastered by legendary engineer
Bob Katz in Orlando, US.
Liner notes by Rebeca Mauleón
Timbazo has done it again with this exuberant, all-star celebration. Rumberos a Montón is a joyful
testament to the power of Cuban rumba, expertly arranged and fiercely performed with plenty of
corazón. This album might be Nils Fischer's best to date, combining the high-intensity of timba
and 'salsa dura' with Timbazo-style originals and the lyricism of some of Cuba's classic
compositions. And talk about a killer a line-up!
Nils Fischer
Nils Fischer is one of the top percussionists in Europe, touring and recording constantly with an
array of projects and he had the honor to play with many of Latin music's legends. Some time ago
Nils felt that time had come for a project of his own as well. Now he could pursue his musical
visions all the way. Nils: 'I followed my inner voice and chose music, arrangers and musicians
who are a perfect combination in my opinion.'
The working band
Timbazo performed at festivals like North Sea Jazz Festival and many other major venues. The
bandmembers hail from from Colombia, Cuba, Holland, US, Germany, Puerto Rico, Venezuela
and Curaçao. Nils: 'I see the group as a collective, everyone has a strong input. This brings the
music to life.' Besides the extra boost by the guest musicians, this recording session shows which
development the band has made - Timbazo has found it’s own sound.


1. Rumberos a Montón (feat. Fabian Nodarse, Changuito & Alexander Abreu) 4:26
2. Timbazo Llegó (feat. Nando Vanin) 4:54
3. Maferefún Yemayá (feat. Alberto Caicedo, Carlos Del Puerto, Calixto Oviedo & Julito Padrón) 6:10
4. Flores Para Tu Altar (feat. Lucrecia & Alexander Abreu) 5:20
5. Emboba (feat. Fabian Nodarse, Alberto Caicedo, Nando Vanin, Amaury Pérez & Changuito) 2:19
6. Palo Pa' Changuito (feat. Changuito, Lucrecia & Alexander Abreu) 2:24
7. Sabor a Bombón (feat. Nando Vanin, Bart Platteau & Julito Padrón) 4:59
8. What's Going On (feat. Alberto Caicedo, Amik Guerra & Calixto Oviedo) 5:43
9. Voy a Barrer Contigo (feat. Fabian Nodarse & Ben Van Den Dungen) 4:59
10. La Media Vuelta (feat. Alberto Caicedo & Julito Padrón) 4:48
11. Algo Así (feat. Calixto Oviedo, Jan Hartong & Ed Verhoeff) 4:25
12. What's Going On (English Version) [feat. Shirma Rouse] 3:40
13. Timbazo Llegó (Radio Edit) 3:55
14. Maferefún Yemayá (Radio Edit) 3:41
15. Voy a Barrer Contigo (Radio Edit) 3:38