Sly 5th Ave - Presents Akuma


  Sly 5th Ave
click to order (usually available)

  Presents Akuma
  Popular Music
  Truth Revolution Records

Originally hailing from Austin, TX, Sylvester Onyejiaka aka, Sly5thave, was fascinated by music at a very young age. Often staying after church to play the drum set, sing in the choir, or tinker around on the piano, it was only a matter of time before he received his first saxophone at the age of 11. Initially self taught, he joined band a year later than his peers, quickly becoming obsessed with music.
Sylvester continued to harness his craft, eventually landing at the University of North Texas where he played in numerous ensembles and was featured on many recordings; the most notable of which being the Grammy Nominated “Lab 2009” with the One O’Clock Lab Band under the direction of Mr. Steve Wiest. While in Denton Sylvester took the time to explore many different genres of music in addition to jazz -- composing and playing for numerous artists from new to old. In addition to touring with Prince and the New Power Generation, Sylvester has had the chance to perform and/or record with great musicians such as Gladys Knight, The Dave Brubeck Quartet, James Carter, Keith Anderson, Sasha Allen, Charles Perry, Darrell Green, Wynton Marsalis, Phil Lasiter, Maceo Parker, Jason Marsalis, Ellis Marsalis, Branford Marsalis, Delfayo Marsalis, Brad Leali, Shelley Carrol, Quamon Fowler, Sene, Homeboy Sandman, Blu, Freddie Gibbs, Stockton Helbing, and Rob Lewis. Currently, he resides in Brooklyn, New York, where, in addition to finishing his debut album "Akuma", he is working with Sene, Denitia, and Producer Phil Lassiter on his solo project Philthy, and other various horn arranging and performance pursuits. He is a resident musician/producer at The Clubhouse. Sylvester proudly endorses Hercules Instrument Stands and Cannonball Saxophones.


Tracks: 1. Suite For Ogbuefi - I; 2. Suite For Ogbuefi - II; 3. Suite For Ogbuefi - III; 4. Basslude; 5. Akuma; 6. Bach; 7. Security; 8. Prelude; 9. Deme; 10. Lolo; 11. Road to Abuja; 12. Abuja